The King of Wands & Me — What One Tarot Card Could Mean For Your Life

Heeding the universe’s signs

Autumn Hutson
3 min readOct 16, 2020

As an amateur tarot card reader, I’m still actively learning what each card means in general, and what they mean for me. I don’t know about you, but I tend to consult my tarot deck in times of stress and confusion, to gain some clarity from a more spiritual source. During this time in my life (living through a global pandemic as a recent college graduate), I’ve laid out more spreads for myself than ever, trying to get some clues about my foggy future.

In my last three tarot spreads, I’ve noticed one card that remained a constant: The King of Wands.

Image from crystal-reflections.com

A quick rundown on how tarot cards work — like a deck of playing cards, tarot cards are organized by suits (wands, pentacles, cups, and swords). Then they are further separated into two larger groups called major arcana and minor arcana. The suited cards fall into the minor arcana group, while cards like The Sun, The Devil, and The Lovers fall into the major arcana group. Major arcana are special and behave like trump cards, so when you pull one, you pay attention.

Back to The King of Wands. This card is in the minor arcana group, but still pretty important since it features a royal figure. When I looked into the meaning for this one, this is what I found:

“You have a clear vision of where you want to go, and now you are manifesting that vision with the support of those around you” (biddytarot.com).

“Unlike the other wands cards in the deck…this particular one is not focused on pure creativity. Instead, this king is actually way more likely to take an idea and to decisively implement it himself” (labyrinthos.co).

“He represents some sort of expansion, establishment of something in your professional life, or financial gain along with success. He is a positive presence, likely to bring along positive outcomes. The answer is yes” (trustedtarot.com).

So, it’s safe to say that this king has something really great to offer me in the near future. And if you happen to run into him on more than one occasion, this is a brightly-lit sign that any endeavor you start, any idea that’s forming, is one that will bring you abundance.

If you’re not really feeling the fiery spirit of the King of Wands, try to adopt his qualities slowly, one at a time, because clearly you have success waiting for you at the finish line.

Image from Pinterest

Take control of your life, be bold and don’t doubt yourself! Trust in any vision you have for your future and remember to stay optimistic. What’s more important than leading others through your new venture…is leading yourself.

And if you need any reassurance, just know that the King of Wands is waiting for you, keeping that spot on the throne nice and warm for you until you arrive. So, get going.

--

--

Autumn Hutson

Writing whatever what I feel like because this is my hot blog! (insights on culture, style, life, etc.)